Skip to main content

shiv tatva

The word tatva translates as element, something which is created and not the creator. Everything that is created is composed of 16 tatvas. The first five–prithvi (earth), jal (water), agni (fire), vayu (air) and akash (ether)—pertain to the Bhuloka or earth. The sixth element is the Shiv tatva, which corresponds to the agya chakra, located at the centre of the forehead. Between the visshudhhi and agya, there are 11 more tatvas and yet the Shiv tatva is called the sixth tatva because Shiv is adi, anadi, anant, akhand… which is beyond the comprehension of buddhi. A normal human brain functions on 7-8 per cent efficiency, which is enough for experiences of physical world, but to experience Shiv tatva, activation of higher senses is required. There are three knots in the body—Brahm Granthi, Vishnu Granthi and Rudra Ganthi. It is easiest to open the Brahma Granthi; Vishnu Granthi also opens up relatively easily, but opening the Rudra Granthi is extremely difficult. Till it opens, one cannot experience the remaining 11 tatvas, and till one experiences these tatvas, the 6th element or Shiv tatva will not get activated. All the tatvas reside in the Shiv tatva whose purpose is mukti or salvation. All Shiv sadhnas lead to that. There is no other purpose.
Till the Shiv tatva is activated, one cannot get the experience of subtle dimensions. Reading about them is redundant. Reading leads to activation of lower brain—the five senses and the five elements. The more the lower brain is active, the more you get caught up in the desire for physical experiences. Because there is no limit to physical desires. It keeps you engaged and you get caught in a downward spiral of lower pleasures. It is the lack of Shiv tatva, which is causing the human race to devolve.
When we say Shiv tatva, we refer to the combination of Shiv and Shakti, the ardhnarishwar form of Shiv. If you remove ‘eee’ of Shakti from Shiv, it becomes shav (dead body). It is Shakti that fuels the vehicle that is Shiv and it is Shiv that drives Shakti. Shiv resides at the top (agya chakra) and Shakti at the base (moolchakra). When we start sadhna, Shiv has to come down, hold the Shakti and lift it up through the various chakras. Interestingly, when Shiv merges with Shakti, it becomes a tatva. When the merger happens in prithvi tatva, so much force is generated that the sadhak is unable to let go of physical pleasures. Whatever he/she desires in the physical comes walking to him/her; such is the attraction. Similarly at subsequent chakras and tatvas. These are described as pitfalls in yogsutras because no matter what you get in the physical, fulfilment never happens and you are left wanting more. It keeps you engaged and you lose your path. So the guru has to gradually lift the sadhak above all these.

After experiencing 16 tatvas, the merger of Shiv and Shakti happens and you access the Shiv tatva and then, you get plenty of all the tatvas. Merger of tatvas is Shiv tatva, which is for evolution only. It gives all that is there in physical creation but it gives you to leave it. The yogsutras say as soon as you achieve merger at a tatva, prepare to leave it to achieve the next tatva. There is a pyramidal structure in creation, there is plenty of space at the base and very little at the top. That is why as soon as you access the Shiv tatva, effect of Vishnu’s maya becomes manifold. Money, power, position, beauty—none will last, but will keep you from moving up. The choice is yours.

Without Shiv tatva, kundalini cannot rise and the darshan of Shiv tatva is not possible without a guru. Before one ventures to explore the Shiv tatva, one must look within and see what the quest is. Is it more of pleasure, which will result in pain later and would be temporary or is it actually Shiv? Is it socialising and making contacts and doing networking, or is it release from the bondages? Depending on the quest, one finds a guru or an entertainer.

Read here :


Popular posts from this blog


There are two bean shaped organs in the body, one to the left and the other to the right in the pelvic region, and their function is filtration of the fluids of the body. The residue after filtration is then expelled from the body as urine. I am referring to the kidneys. Kidneys assume greater significance in our lives, given that are body is 60-70% water. And this water needs to be regulated constantly.
The kidneys are so fine an organ that they remove all the solids from the water. Certain solids which are heavy and cannot be expelled completely, get calcified. This leads to kidney stones. When the kidney stones grow in size, they block the top of the kidney or are pushed into the urethra thereby blocking it. Early symptoms are pain. And this pain need not be limited to the lower back area, and may even be experienced in the lower chest area.  This is because when the kidneys gasp for prana, they can put pressure on any nerve in the body. Another symptom is weight gain. When kidneys …


The British punctured our roots, killed cows and poisoned our minds, and left behind generations of ‘brown Englishmen’, writes Yogi Ashwini Macaulay in his infamous ‘Minute’ in 1835 changed the course of how Bharat (or India as we call it now) would be perceived by its countrymen. He planned to uproot the Indian culture through English education. He advocated education for a selected class and wanted to create eminent clerks to serve the lower cadres in British administration, “Brown Englishmen”. The fact that most of us find it perfectly normal to address him, who ravaged our culture, as “Lord” Macaulay and find the idea of cow, which nourishes us, being our mother or goddess absurd, is a direct indicator of the fact that Macaulay succeeded in brainwashing us. A brainwash to the extent that no matter what we write here or whatever stats we share, the Brown Englishmen, even if they make it through the end of this article, would still not find anything wrong in killing cows or eating bee…

Yoga for Eyes and Ears

Yoga was conceived millennia ago; it is a science which has stood the test of time, survived invasions from races across the globe. Yoga has survived because it is shashwat (eternal), what it was, it will remain. Invaders and plunderers can destroy all the records, but they cannot destroy Yoga for it is a blessing straight from the Creator. The gyan of Yoga is handed down from the Guru to the shishya, the reason its theories are being rediscovered by modern scientists. As per Yoga, it is possible to maintain vision in the eyes along with good hearing abilities till the last. We have occipital lobes at the back and temporal lobes in the front of our brain, sides of the brain, right behind the temples. These two are directly connected to the sight and hearing abilities. Actually when you hear, it is not the eardrum that is resonating, it’s the lobe and when you are seeing, it is not the retina, but the lobe which is responsible for the vision. If your lobes are healthy, then the hearing …